Nigerian States and Their Years of Creation

Nigerian States and their years of creation.

Nigeria is a country in West Africa with its coast in the south located on the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean. Nigeria borders Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the southeast, and Benin in the west.

Nigerian tates and Their Years of Creation

Nigeria currently has 36 states as well as the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. But before 1967, there was no such thing as a state; what the country had were regions, namely — Northern Region, Eastern Region, Western Region and the Mid-Western Region.

It was in 1967 that General Yakubu Gowon created 12 states. Later in 1976, General Murtala Mohammed created 7 more states making it a total of 19 states. Then in 1987, General Ibrahim Babangida, popularly known as IBB, created 2 more. By then, the number of states in Nigeria had increased to 21, after which he (IBB) created 9 more states in 1991 to make the total number of states in Nigeria 30.

General Sanni Abacha would later get into power in 1993 and created additional states three years later. He (Abacha) carved out 6 more states from the existing thirty in 1996 to make the number of states in the country 36.

That was how the 36 states came into being. There hasn’t been any more states since the last ones in 1996 even though there have been cries.

Another important thing to note is that Lagos was initially the Federal Capital before it was moved to Abuja. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) was moved from Lagos to Abuja on December 12, 1991.

Now below are the 36 states of Nigeria and their years of creation.

States in Nigeria and the years they were created




Year of Creation

1. Abia Umuahia 27 August, 1991
2. Adamawa Yola 27 August, 1991
3. Akwa Ibom Uyo 23 September, 1987
4. Anambra Awka 27 August, 1991
5. Bauch Bauchi 3 February, 1976
6. Bayelsa Yenagoa 1 October, 1996
7. Benue Makurdi 3 February, 1976
8. Borno Maiduguri 3 February, 1976
9. Cross River Calabar 27 May, 1967
10. Delta Asaba 27 August, 1991
11. Ebonyi Abaliki 1 October, 1996
12. Edo Benin City 27 August, 1991
13. Ekiti Ado-Ekiti 1 October, 1996
14. Enugu Enugu 27 August, 1991
15. Gombe Gombe 1 October, 1996
16. Imo Owerri 3 February, 1976
17. Jigawa Dutse 27 August, 1991
18. Kaduna Kaduna 27 May, 1967
19. Kano Kano 27 May, 1967
20. Katsina Katsina 23 September, 1987
21. Kebbi Birnin Kebbi 27 August, 1991
22. Kogi Lokoja 27 August, 1991
23. Kwara Ilorin 27 May, 1967
24. Lagos Ikeja 27 May, 1967
25. Nasarawa Lafia 1 October, 1996
26. Niger Minna 3 February, 1976
27. Ogun Abeokuta 3 February, 1976
28. Ondo Akure 3 February, 1976
29. Osun Osogbo 27 August, 1991
30. Oyo Ibadan 3 February, 1976
31. Plateau Jos 3 February, 1976
32. Rivers Port-Harcourt 27 May, 1967
33. Sokoto Sokoto 3 February, 1976
34. Taraba Jalingo 27 August, 1991
35. Yobe Damaturu 27 August, 1991
36. Zamfara Gusau 1 October, 1996
FCT Federal Capital Territory Abuja 3 February, 1976

From the table, you could see that there are many states that were created in the same year, especially in 1967, which marked the beginning of states in Nigeria, when 12 states were created.


  • Before 1967, there were no states, but regions: Northern, Eastern, Western and the Mid-Western regions.
  • General Yakubu Gowon created 12 states in 1967.
  • General Murtala Mohammed 7 states in 1976.
  • in 1987, General Ibrahim Babangida created 2 states.
  • General Ibrahim Babangida created 9 more states in 1991.
  • Abuja is the Federal Capital Terittory. It is where the Aso Rock, the Presidential Villa and the National Assembly are domiciled. It was made the Capital in 1991.

Don’t forget to share this post. You can use the social media share buttons below this post.

You can as well check the the list of the most beautiful states in Nigeria on the blog. You can read about the hierarchy of courts in Nigeria and their jurisdiction and other interesting posts about Nigeria by clicking here.

Again, please share this post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Next Post

The 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and Their States

Wed Jan 30 , 2019
What are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria? Nigeria has 6 geopolitical zones and all the 36 states of the Federation are grouped under these zones. In this post, I’ll list the geopolitical zones of Nigeria and their states. Below is the list of the six geopolitical zones of Nigeria […]
Nigerian tates and Their Years of Creation