The 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and Their States

What are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

Nigeria has 36 states, 774 local government areas and is divided into six geopolitical zones based on similarity of culture, history and ethnicity.

In this post, I’ll list all the geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states under them.

The 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria are:

  1. North Central
  2. North East
  3. North West
  4. South East
  5. South South
  6. South West

The Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and the States Under Them

Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

North Central

There are 6 states as well as the FCT, Abuja in the North Central. They are:

  1. Benue
  2. Kogi
  3. Kwara
  4. Niger
  5. Plateau
  6. Nasarawa
  7. FCT Abuja

The North Central geopolitical zone, also known as the Middle Belt, has the most ethnic diversity in Nigeria. There is the Yoruba ethnic group, the Hausa-Fulani, Nupe, Jukun, Agatu, Tiv and so on.

Some of Nigerian’s brightest people are from the North Central, including Mikel Obi and M.I Abaga from Plateau State; Bishop David Oyedepo and Kunle Afolayan from Kwara State; Darey Art Alade and Sen. Dino Melaye from Kogi State.

North East

The North East is yet another geopolitical zone in Nigeria. The are 6 states in the North East geopolitical zone and they are:

  1. Adamawa
  2. Bauchi
  3. Borno
  4. Gombe
  5. Taraba
  6. Yobe

The North East geopolitical zone is so big it occupies nearly one-third of Nigeria’s total land mass, with agriculture as the major economic drive.

Qservers Web Hosting

Aisha Buhari and Atiku Abubakar, both from Adamawa State, are some of the notable people from the North East geopolitical zone.

Needless to say, this zone, particularly Borno and some parts of Yobe State, is the most terrorized part of the country.

May God help Nigeria put and end to the Boko Haram insurgency.

ALSO READ: 40+ Visa-Free Countries for Anyone With a Nigerian Passport

North West

The North West is another of the geopolitical zones in the Northern region. It comprises 7 states, namely:

  1. Jigawa
  2. Kaduna
  3. Kano
  4. Katsina
  5. Kebbi
  6. Sokoto
  7. Zamfara

Predominantly Hausa, the North West is the last zone in the Northern Nigeria on this list of the geopolitical zones of Nigeria. As you’d expect, the commonly spoken language of the North West is Hausa. The North West is of economic importance to Nigeria with industries in textile, footwear, cosmetics, plastics, leather-work, ceramics, furniture and many more.

Free Blog Setup

Former president Umar Musa Yar’adu and President Muhammad Buhari — both from Katsina State — are from this zone.

South East

The South East geopolitical zones of Nigeria comprises 5 states and they are:

  1. Abia
  2. Anambra
  3. Ebonyi
  4. Enugu
  5. Imo

The South East is is predominantly Igbo and also predominantly Christian. Some of Nigeria’s greatest people are from the South East, including Chimamanda Adichie, Patoranking, Ruggedman, Tekno, Dora Akunyili, Osita Osadebe and Nnamdi Kanu.

South South

The South South is made up of 6 states, namely:

  1. Akwa Ibom
  2. Bayelsa
  3. Cross River
  4. Delta
  5. Edo
  6. Rivers

Of the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria, this is like the most economically important zone to Nigeria as it is the region where the country gets the over 70% of the nation’s export — OIL. And that’s not to forget that some of Nigeria’s notable people are from this region, such as Former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, Vincent Enyeama, Timaya, Tonto Dikeh and many more.

ALSO READ: See the Top 10 Strongest International Passports in Africa

South West

And last, but not least in our list of the geopolitical zones in Nigeria is the South West. The South West is made up of 6 states, namely:

  1. Ekiti
  2. Lagos
  3. Ogun
  4. Ondo
  5. Osun
  6. Oyo

The South West is homogeneously Yoruba, and while there are slight dialectical differences, the people of South West predominantly speak the Yoruba language. Lagos, the “Center of Excellence” and Nigeria’s center of commerce is in the South West.

Some of the notable people from the South West region include Former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Barrister Femi Falana, Anthony ‘Oluwafemi’ Joshua, Prophet T.B. Joshua, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and many more.

Those are the 6 geopolitical zones of Nigeria and the states under each.

Disclaimer: This list is not arranged in order of preference for any region or zone; rather, it is arranged in alphabetical order.


  • Nigeria has 36 States
  • There are 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria
  • The Southwest geopolitical zone contains 6 states
  • The Northeast geopolitical zone contains 6 states
  • The South South geopolitical zone has 6 states
  • The Southeast geopolitical zone contains 5 states
  • The North West geopolitical zone of Nigeria is made up 7 states
  • The North Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria contains 6 states as well as the Federal Capital, Abuja

Those are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states under them.

Thank you for reading. You can drop your questions and comments in the comments section.

Free Blog Setup

Don’t forget to share this information with others. Use the social media share buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.