Nigeria Facts: Facts About Nigeria You Should Know

Nigeria is a country in Western Africa with a land area of about 923,768 km2. Nigeria got her independence from the British in 1960 and has since then grown to be one of the most important countries in the world.

In this post, you’ll learn about some facts about Nigeria such as the day of independence, the number of states, past military regimes and democratic administrations. Because the country continues to exist and also continues to grow, this post will be updated as needed.


Below is a list of facts about Nigeria:

  • Nigeria is in West Africa and is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  • Nigeria shares borders with about 6 countries — Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the southeast, and Benin in the west.
  • The Southern and Northern Protectorate were amalgamated in 1914
  • Nigeria got her independence in October 1, 1960
  • Nigeria became a republic in October 1, 1963
  • The Capital of Nigeria is Abuja became the capital on December 12, 1991 
  • The first military coup in Nigeria was staged in January 15, 1966 by a group of Nigerian soldiers led by Kaduna Nzeogwu, Emmanuel Ifeajuna and Adewale Ademoyega
  • Nigeria has 36 states as well as the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja
  • The official language of Nigeria is English Language
  • Nigeria has 774 Local Government Areas
  • The three (3) prominent local languages are Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba
  • The colours of the flag of Nigeria are white and green (2 green stripes at and one white stripe in the middle)
  • The flag of Nigeria was designed by Taiwo Akinkunmi in 1959
  • Nigeria’s motto is Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress

ALSO READ: Nigerian States and Their Years of Creation

Free Blog Setup
  • Nigeria is the 12th largest oil producer in the world and the 8th largest exporter
  • Lagos is the largest city in Nigeria
  • The 3 Arms of Government in Nigeria are the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary
  • The legislature runs on bi-camera (that is, two legislative houses), termed the Upper and Lower Chambers
  • The Senate is the Upper Chamber while the Federal House of Representatives is the Lower Chamber
  • The Supreme Court is the highest court while the Customary Court is the lowest
  • Nigeria is the first country in Africa to win the Gold Medal in an Olympics
  • The Currency of Nigeria is the Naira
  • Nigerian driving system is the right hand side
  • The Nigerian international calling code is +234
  • Nigeria has both ethnic (over 250 ethnic groups) and religion (two prominent religions) diversity
  • The three major ethnic groups are Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba
  • The two major religions are Islam and Christianity
  • Nigeria is home to River Niger, the largest river in Africa
  • There are 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria, namely; North-Central, North-East, North-West, South-East, South-South, South-West.
  • The Nigerian military comprises the Nigeria Army (in charge of land warfare), the Nigerian Air Force (in charge of air combat) and the Nigerian Navy (in charge of the water warfare).

These are some of the facts about Nigeria you should know about. Do you have questions or suggestions as to more facts to add? You can make a comment below or use the contact page to get to us!

Recommended: What is Nigeria’s ZIP Code?

Also, don’t forget to share this post with others. You can use the social media share buttons below.

Free Blog Setup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.