East African Countries: List of Countries in East Africa

This post lists all countries in East Africa. You can also read about other countries in Africa and their capitals.

East Africa is a region on the African continent on the eastern part. Here is the list of East African countries.

Quick Fact: Six (6) of these East African countries (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda) are members of the East African Community (EAC).

List of Countries in East Africa

  • Burundi
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Below is some brief info about these countries in East Africa


Official Name: Republic of Burundi

Capital: Bujumbura

Independence: July 1, 1962

Burundi is a landlocked country amid the African Great Lakes region where East and Central Africa converge.


Official Name: Union of the Comoros

Capital: Moroni

Qservers Web Hosting

Independence: July 6, 1975

Comoros is the third smallest African country by land mass.

ALSO READ: Top 10 African Countries With the Strongest Passports


Official Name: Republic of Djibouti

Capital: Djibouti

Independence: June 27, 1977

Djibouti is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden at the east.


Official Name: State of Eritrea

Capital: Asmara

Independence: May 24, 1993

Eritrea is a country in the Horn of Africa, bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast.


Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Capital: Addis Ababa

Ethiopia is another country in the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Eritrea to the north, Djibouti to the north and Somalia to the east, South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south.


Official Name: Republic of Kenya

Capital: Nairobi

Independence: December 12, 1963

Kenya is the world’s 48th largest country by total area. Kenya has great tourist spots and it’s no surprise it’s the country’s second largest source of foreign exchange revenue after agriculture.


Official Name: Republic of Madagascar

Capital: Antananarivo

Independence: June 26, 1960

The terraced paddy fields of the central highlands of Madagascar give way to tropical rainforest along the eastern coast bordered by the shores of the Indian Ocean.


Official Name: Republic of Malawi

Capital: Lilongwe

Independence: July 06, 1964

Malawi is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the northeast, and
Mozambique on the east, south and west.


Official Name: Republic of Mozambique

Capital: Maputo

Independence: June 25, 1975

Mozambique is a country located in Southeast Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west, and Swaziland and South Africa to the southwest.

ALSO READ: 10 Romantic Ways to Say I Love You


Official Name: Republic of Rwanda

Capital: Kigali

Independence: July 1, 1962

Rwanda is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.


Official Name: Republic of Seychelles

Capital: Victoria

Independence: June 29, 1976

Seychelles is an archipelago country in the Indian Ocean. The capital of the 115- island country, Victoria, lies 1,500 kilometres east of mainland East Africa. Other nearby island countries and territories include Comoros, Mayotte, Madagascar, Réunion and Mauritius to the south.

Free Blog Setup


Official Name: Somali Republic

Capital: Mogadishu

Independence: July 1, 1960

Somali is a country located in the Horn of Africa . It is bordered by Ethiopia to the west, Djibouti to the northwest, the Gulf of Aden to the north and the Somali Sea to the east.

South Sudan

Official Name: Republic of South Sudan

Capital: Juba

Independence: July 09, 2011

South Sudan is bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Uganda to the south and the Central African Republic to the west.


Official Name: United Republic of Tanzania

Capital: Dar es Salaam

Independence: December 09, 1961

Tanzania is a country in eastern Africa within the African Great Lakes region. It borders Uganda to the north, Comoro Islands at the Indian Ocean to the east, Mozambique and Malawi to the south, and Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.

The highest mountain in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro, is in Tanzania.

ALSO READ: How to Download Twitter Videos to Your Phone


Official Name: Republic of Uganda

Capital: Kampala

Independence: October 09, 1962

Uganda is a country in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania.


Official Name: Republic of Zambia

Capital: Lusaka

Independence: October 24, 1964

Zambia borders the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Malawi to the east, Zimbabwe and Botswana to the south and Angola to the west.


Official Name: Republic of Zimbabwe

Capital: Harare

Independence: April 18, 1980

Zimbabwe is a landlocked country located in southern Africa, between the Zambezi and Limpopo Rivers, bordered by South Africa, Botswana, Zambia and Mozambique.

Quick Fact: Zimbabwe has 16 official languages.

East African Countries and Their Capitals

Burundi — Bujumbura

Comoros — Moroni

Djibouti — Djibouti

Eritrea — Asmara

Ethiopia — Addis Ababa

Kenya — Nairobi

Madagascar — Antananarivo

Malawi — Lilongwe

Mauritius — Port Louis

Mozambique — Maputo

Rwanda — Kigali

Seychelles — Victoria

Somalia — Mogadishu

South Sudan — Juba

Tanzania — Dar es Salaam

Uganda — Kampala

Free Blog Setup

Zambia — Lusaka

Zimbabwe — Harare

ALSO READ: Nigeria Facts: Facts About Nigeria You Should Know

Hope you enjoyed the post? Share this post across all social media platforms. You can use the share buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.